my new discovery – piclits

PicLit from PicLits.com
See the full PicLit at PicLits.com

There are so many brilliant tools on the web and I love having a play and thinking about ways they could be used in the classroom. I came across this one today through a colleague on twitter (thanks @MGEducator!). PicLits has a gallery of colourful pictures on a range of topics which you can add text to to make a bit of visual poetry. I can imagine using this as a great starter for a writing lesson, just to warm students up and extend their descriptive thinking. It would be brilliant to use with a unit on poetry – looking at imagery and trying to create a sense of the picture through writing. Placement of the words can also change or create meanings – there are some good examples in the gallery of work others have created.

2 thoughts on “my new discovery – piclits

  1. I love PicLit – it is so rich – the grammar that is entrenched is great as well as the vocabulary. I was amazed at the quality of the finished product we came up with in a 5/6 class. Thanks for reminding me.

    • Thanks for the comment, Celia. It is such a rich tool and I’m looking forward to testing it out with my students. I love tools that allow students to be ‘professionals’ in various fields and produce high quality work.

Leave a Reply

