the blogging journey continues…

So, not content to just have this professional outpouring of a blog, I’ve now set up an ICT class blog. I teach Grades Prep, 3/4 and 5/6 and am amazed and proud by the work they create and want to share it with the world. I’m not really sure about the practicalities of that right now but have funnelled my enthusiasm into setting up the blog. Sometimes I miss not having a ‘conventional’ classroom and this is definitely one of those times. I wish I’d discovered blogging as a classroom teacher – the lure of an authentic audience would motivate students so much and I can’t think of a better way to instill the idea of being a ‘global citizen’ than through blogging.

But I shall have to be happy with a slightly watered down version of the student blogging experience – watch this space to see how it goes!

2 thoughts on “the blogging journey continues…

  1. Don’t be disheartened, you already do and will continue with great things. Just a bit of shift in focus is all. Will the classroom teachers work with you to jointly plan a project…maybe something where you can teach them the blog part of the project and they can supply the content? I’d love it if our ICT teacher would collaborate with me….relieve the pressure on me to teach them widgets, hyperlinking, trackbacks, etc and I could focus on teaching the plate tectonics/Shang dynasty stuff.
    I also saw that you are going to use a bot. Do you use LOGO? I’ve used that in the past and my students loved it and did so many amazing things. Right now we’re trying to learn Scratch and then use the coding to build earth science animations. It’s slow going and the kids resist learning something that “should be computer class, not science”. Go figure…you’d think they’d be happy to branch out and apply what they know from one place to another.

    I just offer you encouragement. WE all need it. I think it will be great fun to see what you do and I’m looking forward to hearing all about it.

    marsha

    • Thanks so much for the comment and the encouragement, Marsha. I used Scratch with my Grade 5/6 students last year and they loved so it so I am intending to wheel it out again later in the year. Having each grade for only an hour a week is the big challenge but I was reminded today why it’s all worth it – a Grade 4 boy came up after class and thanked me for the lesson we’d just done. Definitely makes it worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

