Blogging – why?

On Monday, I’m due to deliver some Professional Development to staff at my school on the topic of blogging. But why?

I know why I blog. I value the opportunity to reflect on things I’ve learnt, things that didn’t work, things that I’ve been reading or things I’m keen to try. I enjoy the dialogue with other educators about these topics and the feedback and ideas I get that help enhance my teaching. I like having an online presence as part of a community of bloggers who share, discuss, debate and dissect. And, like student bloggers, I like having an authentic audience for my writing. It means so much more when you think there is even the smallest chance that someone else might read it. That feeling is so much more powerful when your audience could potentially be from the far flung corners of the globe.

However, they’re my reasons. What are yours? Why do you blog? Why should my colleagues be encouraged to do so? And why should we get our students on board?

3 thoughts on “Blogging – why?

  1. Hi,

    I have been blogging in the classroom for the past year and I find the most powerful learning the students in my class have done is online safety. What better way to teach students how fragile their digital footprint is than by blogging? Through blogging I have been able to teach students the importance of using an avatar, how important it is to read what you write as it can’t be deleted and what details are too personal for online viewing. Because of our blog I now hear students asking each other if their comment sounds OK or if they think they have given away too many details. I can’t think of a more authentic way to do that!

    Keep up the great blogging!

    Mel

  2. I’ve been blogging about my professional practices since 2003 and it’s helped me articulate things aloud that I’ve learned. Almost celebrate my successes. And I’ve learned to ask for help…much like you did in this post. It’s my new thing I’ve learned about blogging….creating readership is based on mutual helping each other…whether it’s thinking thru things or airing problems you migth need help with….or reading other people’s blogs and lending a hand. It’s community and finding other professionals like you.

    For my kids, I see something slightly different. They are also only 11 and 12 years old. They are learning to write for someone beyond their teacher and parents. They are excited to try and excel in order to reach out and find other kids. It gives them an intrinsic reason which makes everything they do easier and more enjoyable for them. Even giving them the same assignment but online is “better” in their minds somehow.

    Best of luck with your training.

    marsha

  3. I blog because at heart I am a writer and my blog gives me an audience for my writing. I also like to have my students blog so I am a model for them as well. I like to share stories about my teaching, my ideas, and my opinions so my blog seems like THE place for that in the 21st century. But really I write my blog because I am a writer.

Leave a Reply

