Teacher blogging challenge – 10 questions for my blog

A quick, 10 question interview with my blog….

1. Tell us about yourself – who are you? Well, I’m a blog.  I’m just a bunch of words grouped into random thoughts, mostly about how education is enhanced with technology.

2. What inspired you to begin? I love sharing things – ideas, successes, less than successful attempts at things and also like having a record of my professional thoughts and happenings.

3. What inspires you most to write individual posts? Students.  When they do amazing things (ie, most of the time), my author can’t help but share that and the learning environment that helped it along.

4. What is hard about being a blog? Sometimes I feel a bit neglected. I don’t think my author does it intentionally, she just seems to get very caught up in other things and forgets to update me.  She says she has lots of ideas – I just wish she was better at getting them on screen.

5. What is your favourite moment so far? Announcing my top 10 for the year. My author was very proud of how far she had come during the year so that was a great post to publish. Receiving comments from others has been really rewarding too, especially from educators my author admires.

6. If you could be anything else in the cloud, what could you be? Difficult question! I think I’d like to be a wiki – all the input from other people would help me become more knowledgeable!

7. What are your goals for this year? I thought about running for Prime Minister but apparently blogs aren’t considered citizens in their own right.  Perhaps that could be the topic of a great new post?  I’d like to encourage my author to post more regularly.

8. What advice do you have for other blogs? Get out there and get yourself noticed!  Publish often on issues relevant to your topic and always network – I hang out with other blogs at parties all the time (and not just for the food).

9. What do you think the future holds?  Are there any bloggy developments on the horizon? I’d like to be a bit more rounded with resources and links to thinks relevant to educational technology.  I know my author has all sorts of different tools saved around the place but I’d like her to have the time/patience/focus to be able to bring it all together – that would be useful for her and others.

10. Anything else to add? Er, no.  Thanks.  It’s been fun!

my blog as a wordle - try your own at http://www.wordle.net

30 thoughts on “Teacher blogging challenge – 10 questions for my blog

  1. This is just great! I love the way it has been written and the very honest responses back from the blog – I did laugh! Thanks for sharing. Are you able to go back and share the link to your favourite moment, so that those who are not so adventurous and new to blogging can find the post quickly. It certainly had me intrigued and wanting to know more. By scrolling down I found it, but others might prefer it hyperlinked. Look forward to your next posts in the challenge.

    • Thanks for the comment – good idea to add in a hyperlink and I’ve now done this. That’s why I need input from fabulous, experienced bloggers like yourself!

    • Thanks for the comment Sue. It’s great to know that someone else has similar issues about making time for blogging – it’s definitely a priority this year!

  2. Love your post. Isn’t it true, we get so busy it is difficult to keep up with a teacher blog. Hope you get to do more posting on it. Its one of my goals too. Love the title of your blog. I am a PC user but did mty first computer on Macs. Wish we still had them but school changed to PC.
    Kathryn

    • Thanks for the comment, Kathryn. Unfortunately I’m in a school with all PCs too (although I’m frequently trying to change their mind!) but love my mac at home – they really are the best!

  3. Congratulations, you have done a wonderful job of interviewing your Blog. I thoroughly enjoyed your humorous writing style.Fantastic Blog too,
    Best Wishes Yvonne Osborn, Melbourne, Australia.

  4. Well done Gill – I like the way you interviewed your blog – very clever! It really is worth taking the time to add your favourite links, especially if your students use your blog, so they can easily find great tools and resources as well. Keep up the great work.

    • Thanks for the comment Britt – I think you’re right, it will be worth adding in links. I’ve currently got a few different websites and bits and pieces all over the net but want to bring it all together to make my ‘presence’ a bit more cohesive.

  5. Wonderful interview! Thanks for sharing. Good luck with organizing all those resources, links and tools. I’m having the same challenge! It’s an exciting time in education, though, isn’t it?

  6. Thanks for writing this…and I would definitely encourage you to find a way to share all the good things you’ve found. I think that’s a great goal to have…I would like to do something like that myself. Maybe we can find a group of us that would like to do this and develop the wiki that you were talking about…or some other method.

    Again thanks for sharing.

    marsha

  7. Pingback: Posts of the Week – Visit these blogs – Week 1 | Teacher Challenge

  8. A great interview with some very insightful answers. Time to do all the things we see, time to tidy up all the things we think might come in useful, time to consolidate the new skills we are learning by choosing to be part of this challenge is something a lot of us are probably contemplating. Thanks for such a good read.

    • My pleasure – thanks so much for the comment! I love this challenge for making me feel like working on my blog is a legitimate way to use my time and not just ‘playing’.

  9. Hi Gill,
    I like your answer in the first questions “how education is enhanced with technology”. I want to do the same thing, but I am very new to blogging. So, I need to learn more about this. Thank you for sharing, the interview was great.
    Miekehafidz.

Leave a Reply

